Bangalore South (Karnataka): In this high profile battle of the Brahmins which has attracted all the eyeballs of India, Nandan Nilekani of Congress is taking on 5 time MP of BJP, Anant Kumar. A high-end analysis of this seat tells us that Congress should take big leads in at least 4 assembly segments – BTM Layout, Vijayanagar, Govindrajanagar and Chikpet to defeat Anant Kumar who is strong in Banashankari, Jaya Nagar, Bommanahalli and Padmanabha Nagar.

What is actually happening on the ground? Anant Kumar has taken slender leads in Vijayanagar and Govindrajanagar, while Congress’s lead in BTM layout is not too huge. This has created a favourable situation for BJP’s Anant Kumar till at least the lunch hour, will he be able to hold on to this leads till the end of the day remains to be seen

Rampur (Uttar Pradesh): This is the Azam Khan Stronghold where filmstar Jaya Prada had been elected the last two times. This time there is a three cornered fight between BJP, SP and Congress which has once again fielded the Rampur royalty from Suar.

This is once again a seat which we can use as a prime example of how the Muslim vote is getting divided in Western UP, not just in overall terms but also within a constituency. Yet, this is also a seat that BJP has won only once in 1999, so this should be a barometer for the Modi wave in UP. As of lunch hour BJP is trailing at the third position, so we are keeping a close watch on this seat.

Pataliputra (Bihar): This is one of those high profile contests that has drawn the attention on the nation. This was a seat that RJD top leader Lalu Prasad Yadav had lost in 2009 and had fielded his daughter this time around.

Here, as elsewhere in Bihar, BJP has taken a big lead and Lalu’s daughter is possibly in for a rout! Till lunch hour BJP was almost double that of RJD.